We Are Local

Everett Spokane Seattle

A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) can carry significant penalties. DUI convictions carry some of the harshest penalties for non-felony cases. Even if this is your first DUI, it should be treated seriously because of the significant consequences involved.

Our Seattle DUI attorneys at Russell & Hill, PLLC defend clients against drunk driving charges. We also represent clients facing:

  • Felony DUI’s
  • Underage DUI’s
  • Drug DUI’s and other drug-related charges

If you have been charged with a DUI, we have the experienced advocates needed to represent your case.

DUI Laws in Washington

The Washington State Department of Licensing defines a DUI as, “operating a vehicle while affected by alcohol, drugs, or both.”

Under Washington state law, a driver may be charged with a DUI if:

  1. The amount of alcohol in a driver’s system is:
    1. .08 or higher ford adults (21 and over)
    2. .04 or higher for commercial vehicle drivers (CDL disqualifications)
    3. .02 or higher for minors (under 21)
  2. They are found driving a vehicle under the influence or affected by alcohol, any drug, or a combination of such, regardless of the concentration of alcohol in their body.
    1. The definition of a drug also included any chemical inhaled or ingested for its intoxicating or hallucinatory effects.

All DUI convictions will get reported to the Washington State Department of Licensing.

DUI Sentencing in Washington

If charged with a DUI, the sentences can vary based on the BAC. According to the Washington State DUI Sentencing Grid if:

  • BAC is less than .15% (or no test result) with no prior DUI convictions
    • Minimum of 24 hours in jail time or at least 15 days home monitoring
    • Fines ranging from $823 to $5,000
    • One year ignition interlock requirement
    • License suspension for 90 days
    • Maximum of 364 days in jail
    • The court determined alcohol/drug education or treatment
  • BAC is .15% or greater (or test refusal) with no prior DUI convictions
    • Minimum of 48 hours in hail time or at least 30 days of home monitoring
    • Fines ranging from $1,078 to $5,000
    • One year ignition interlock requirement
    • 1-year revocation of license (2 years if BAC refused)
    • Maximum of 364 days in jail
    • The court determined alcohol/drug education or treatment

The above numbers are for those that have no prior DUI convictions. The number of times you have been arrested for a DUI will have a significant bearing on sentencing.

Regardless of if this is your first DUI or fourth DUI, contact a Seattle DUI attorney as soon as possible for a consultation regarding the specifics of your case.

How a Seattle DUI attorney can help you

Being arrested for a DUI can be a traumatic experience. Our Seattle DUI attorneys make sure that defending yourself against a DUI charge does not add to your stress. At Russell & Hill, we will:

  • Examine all evidence against you
  • Review simulator solutions and BAC testing materials
  • Advise clients about responding to police interrogations and requests to take a sobriety test
  • Determine if there are intervening medical issues that may have caused an altered BAC test
  • Review your driving record
  • Suppress any evidence to weaken the prosecutor’s case.

Our Seattle DUI attorneys will work closely with you to negotiate a plea bargain, and/or possibly eliminate some or all DUI charges. We will always do what is in the best interest of our clients.

Fill out our Criminal Defense Case Evaluation Form and request a free consultation with one of our DUI attorneys at Russell & Hill, PLLC. Get the representation you deserve.

Click To Call